Services

Family Law

Home / Services / Family Law

DBB has one of the largest and most highly-recognized family law practices in Western Canada.

Our family law practitioners recognize the need to handle each case skillfully, efficiently and cost effectively. We range from talented young associates to experienced senior partners and can meet the need for all types of cases and various degrees of complexity.

The lawyers in our family practice possess a wide range of skills and experience that make them particularly well-suited to handle any family law problem.

Our team includes six out of the twenty-five Calgary family law lawyers named by their peers as Canada’s “Best Lawyers” in 2021. Two of our family lawyers are Fellows with the International Academy of Family Lawyers. Our lawyers are leaders in this area and extensively participate in continuing legal and public education.

Our family practice group has a reputation for skill, experience and success in representing our clients at various court levels as well as in providing advice aimed at minimizing litigation. We offer trained mediators, arbitrators and registered collaborative family lawyers.

Our family law services include:

  • Divorce and separation
  • Child and spousal support
  • Division of property
  • Common Law and Adult Interdependent Partnerships
  • Guardianship and trusteeship
  • Prenuptial and cohabitation agreements
  • Adoption
  • Surrogacy and surrogate motherhood
  • Parenting
  • Parentage and maintenance
  • Child mobility applications
  • Expert opinions for proceedings in other jurisdictions
  • Emergency Protection Orders and restraining orders

Our people

Patricia Blocksom, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1132

blocksom@dbblaw.com

Caroline Lee, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1134

lee@dbblaw.com

Aaron Martens, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1127

martens@dbblaw.com

Gillian Sinclair

Counsel

T 403.750.1154

gsinclair@dbblaw.com

Gordon Sterchi

Partner

T 403.750.1150

sterchi@dbblaw.com

Jason Wilkins

Co-Managing Partner

T 403.750.1107

wilkins@dbblaw.com

Michael Anderson

Counsel

T 403.750.1142

anderson@dbblaw.com

Erin Kuzyk

Partner

T 403.750.1148

kuzyk@dbblaw.com

Khatera Haidery

Associate

T 403.750.1119

khaidery@dbblaw.com

Adolfo Peters

Associate

T 403.750.1147

peters@dbblaw.com

Sandy Vander Ziel

Partner

T 403.750.1143

vanderziel@dbblaw.com

Nicole Dechaine

Associate

T 403.750.1145

dechaine@dbblaw.com

Madison Brush

Associate

T 403.750.1153

brush@dbblaw.com

Natasha Hagel

Associate

T 403.750.1192

nhagel@dbblaw.com

Sarah Nasser

Associate

T 403.750.1113

nasser@dbblaw.com

Logan Kachur

Associate

T 403-750-1155

lkachur@dbblaw.com

Kyra Bradley

Student-at-law

T 403-750-1195

kbradley@dbblaw.com