Services

Alternative Dispute Resolution

Home / Services / Alternative Dispute Resolution

We have established a reputation as leaders in the advancement and use of practical and creative strategies to resolve disputed matters.

We offer three types of creative alternatives to the traditional litigation and court based model of dispute resolution: collaborative family law, mediation, and arbitration. Our alternative dispute resolution services help parties resolve their disputes in quicker, more cost-effective, and less adversarial ways. With the assistance of our ADR professionals, clients can achieve results with a higher rate of satisfaction that are more likely to ensure long-term compliance with agreements and orders. DBB offers mediation and arbitration for family law, civil, and estate disputes. Our professionals can assist with a range of hourly rates to fit most budgets, starting from $250 per hour and up.

Our firm offers several experienced lawyers who are trained in providing high-quality alternative dispute resolution services.

Our team consistently strives to increase their knowledge and training in alternative dispute resolution. Patricia Blocksom Q.C., A.O.E. provides mediation training for the Legal Education Society of Alberta. Sandy Vander Ziel and Aaron Martens, Q.C. are Registered Collaborative Family Lawyers, mediators, arbitrators, and Dispute Resolution Officers with the Court of Queen’s Bench. Gord Sterchi, Jason Wilkins, Erin Kuzyk, Khatera Haidery, Adolfo Peters, Madison Brush also provide mediation and/or arbitration services. Several of our other partners at DBB also provide mediation and arbitration services. We have an ongoing training and mentoring program for our mediators that enables us to deliver high quality, effective and cost efficient mediation services.

Our alternative dispute resolution services include:

  • Mediation
  • Arbitration
  • Mediation/Arbitration (Med/Arb)
  • Collaborative Family Law

Our people

Patricia Blocksom, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1132

blocksom@dbblaw.com

Caroline Lee, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1134

lee@dbblaw.com

Aaron Martens, Q.C.

Partner

T 403.750.1127

martens@dbblaw.com

Gordon Sterchi

Partner

T 403.750.1150

sterchi@dbblaw.com

Jason Wilkins

Co-Managing Partner

T 403.750.1107

wilkins@dbblaw.com

Adolfo Peters

Associate

T 403.750.1147

peters@dbblaw.com

Sandy Vander Ziel

Partner

T 403.750.1143

vanderziel@dbblaw.com

Madison Brush

Associate

T 403.750.1153

brush@dbblaw.com